Maya’s guest post: continued

Wow, this girl does not fool around!  Join me in congratulating her on taking some bold, decisive action. And giving me a little bit of a complex in the process.
jb

Sorry for not being in touch for a while. No, no blog yet – maybe soon. The hostal has difficulties with the famous wifi, sorry for not being much in touch in the last few days. I will report more details soon, writing from an internet shop now, on a Spanish keyboard.
Just to let you know – I decided to make an offer on a cute little house owned by a Canadian couple; it has a beautiful garden full of hummingbirds and a view of the two volcanos (or is it volcanoes?), Cotacachi and Imbabura. I should know if my offer was accepted in some 15 minutes. Bitting my nails now… asking myself “am I crazy, what am I doing” and similar questions.

I also found a few local restaurants where the food is not bland: Aji de Piedra, Casa de Turista, Daniels. Gringos, eat local food! Owner of Aji de Piedra told me that many Americans want only one thing: chicken, fries and salad. How un-adventurous! By the way, try jugo de mora (mora juice) – delicious!

I also want to encourage everyone who wants to live in South America – learn Spanish (or Portuguese if you think about Brazil)! It really is possible, and will get you out of the “gringos ghetto”, or the gated communities, where the gringos steam in their own juice. Not very healthy, in my opinion.

OK, time to make a call and find out about my offer. I will write again soon!

OK, my offer, after a small increase, was accepted. It´s almost done…I´m coming to live here in November, unless something totally unpredictable happens. I´m going to have a STRONG drink now…
More to come soon.

2 thoughts on “Maya’s guest post: continued

  1. Thank you, thank you! I’m back in Toronto now, and I have to say that I can’t wait to go back. It’s a rat-race and traffic here, not to mention – frost at night.
    People here (US, Canada) have so many more possessions and conveniences, yet they are not happy… I guess there is always more to be had, and the pressure to acquire.
    I was chatting with the cab driver on my way to Quito, a very cheerful fellow. He said: “I have my job, I have my family, a house, and social security – what more can I wish for?” OK, enough of philosophical musings…
    Just to give you a few details of the buying process: once my offer was accepted, we made same day appointment with a local abogado, or lawyer. He was recommended to me by two local real estate agents. Luckily, these nice ladies did not hold my private purchase against me (by the way – if you need a good, solid and nice real estate agent in Cotacachi and area, contact Micky Enright. Google “Micky Enright Cotacachi” and her website will come up).
    The sellers came with a folder full of documents; the abogado reviewed them very thoroughly – all the permits, approvals, plans etc. Everything happened to be in order. He then drafted a “letter of intent” specifying who’s buying what from whom, and how it’s going to be paid for; attached a copy to my passport to their letter, a copy of their “cedulas” to my letter, and charged me…$20 for 1,5 hour of work.
    The sellers bought me ice-cream to celebrate. I’m doing a deposit of 5% today to their bank account; the remaining amount will be transfered when I go back, and the final paperwork will be done.
    The sellers and I speak Spanish, so we avoided the cost of translations etc.
    Now I have to decide what to sell/give away, what to keep, what to do with th estuff to keep, how to transport my two cats, what to do with my leased car. any advice/insignt will be appreciated!
    I really would like to be there no later than the beginning of November.
    I’ve been cautioned that buying from the locals may be more complicated – for ex. sometimes several members of a family have some rights to the title, it’s hard to determine if the seller actually can sell, and so on.
    More soon.

Leave a Reply

