Kicking the Ferrari

If you’re old enough to read this, you probably remember the scene in Ferris Beuller’s Day Off where Cameron kicks his dad’s Ferrari until it is destroyed in spectacular fashion.  If not, you should click here and check it out.

I’ve always loved this scene, but never more than since deciding to become an expat.  I don’t know why we have to let it come to this before we finally “take a stand” as he calls it.  But you definitely get the sense that Cameron will be much better off for having finally, once-and-for-all, let loose of his fear and claimed his own power.

“I’m afraid of everything,” he admits.  Then, just before he drops back to deliver the first blow, he declares, “I’m not gonna sit on my ass as the events that affect me unfold to determine the course of my life..”  If this isn’t the perfect Expat mantra, I don’t know what is.

I particularly love the moment when, after the first kick, Sloane instinctively moves forward as if to stop him.  Ferris catches her by the sleeve and shakes his head.  He understands that–as crazy as this is, and a hard as it will be to watch–his friend needs this.

So far, every true friend we’ve revealed our plan to has reacted in the very same way: an initial “what the fuck?” followed by an almost instant declaration of understanding and support.  They know our backstories.

I started kicking the Ferrari back on May 8th.  How about you?

1 thought on “Kicking the Ferrari

  1. Great expat mantra John. I think that, although most people identify with the Ferris charactor, there is a Cameron in lurking in us all. We get wound up tight by different issues and finally need to make a stand(with ourself). For me, I haven’t started kicking the bumper yet, but the foot is resting on it and getting antsy!

Leave a comment