One less car to sell

Ever since making the decision to abandon the First World, I am constantly amazed at my own ability to look on the bright side.  I’ve never been a pessimist, but this is ridiculous.

Today, I received a call from the Volkswagen mechanic telling me that my piece-of-shit Jetta is dead.  The list of mechanical failures is impressive and basically adds up to way more than the car itself would be worth.  So it’s off to the salvage yard, hopefully for enough cash to cover the towing charge.

My first emotion was relief.  After all, I’ve got one less thing to get rid of before we pack for Honduras.

I really had no idea that my new world view would arrive months in advance of actual departure.  Good to know if you’re thinking of doing something similar some day.

I’ve noticed another profound change: the realization that I have no desire to buy anything, primarily because I will have no use for it in just a few months.  Eventually we will most likely go shopping for backpacks and other provisions, but until then it’s cathartic as hell knowing that ‘stuff’ has absolutely no value.  This is something we all give lip-service to.  But feeling it become tangible is a different thing entirely.

My mind is so clear, even my job performance has improved.  If that isn’t ironic, I don’t understand the definition.

Leave a Reply

